Law and Order

Lynette Dufton
2 min readSep 7, 2022

--

“John Fetterman will empty our prisons and put hardened criminals on our streets!” is the claim on a Republican TV ad.

Actually, John Fetterman is running for US Senate which has no jurisdiction over prisons. As Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania, John Fetterman was head of the Prison Parole Board and approved parole for elderly, non-violent prisoners with severe medical conditions.

Don’t let the facts spoil an effective scare tactic, Republicans.

The GOP claimed to be the Party of Law and Order. It was somewhat hypocritical when Donald J. Trump said last week, “Regarding those arrested for the events of January 6, if I’m re-elected, I promise full pardons with an apology to many of them.”

Donnie ignored the fact that 140 members of law enforcement were injured on Jan 6 and one died the day after. That poor cop who was almost crushed in a Capitol door should write a letter of apology to the head of the Proud Boys. “I sincerely apologize for blocking that door with my body and preventing you from rushing into the Capitol to capture and hang Mike Pence.”

Donnie claimed to back up his words with his wallet. “I am financially supporting people that are incredible and they were in my office actually two days ago and they are very much on my mind.”

Nice run-on sentence there, Donnie. Of course, he is no longer covering the legal fees of his “personal lawyer” Rudy Giuliani. Donnie’s promises of financial help are somewhat unreliable.

Donnie described the Jan 6 protesters as “patriots. They are mostly firemen, policemen, people in the military.” If my house was burning down and a “fireman” dressed as a Native American Medicine Man showed up, I would be worried, but I would know that he was a “patriot” (or possibly a member of the Village People).

John Fetterman paroles sick old men from prison while Donald J. Trump pardons rioters. Who stands for law and order?

By Ed Dufton

--

--

Lynette Dufton

These posts are written by my father, Ed Dufton, who has an incredible knack of condensing the day’s news into a witty and insightful commentary on society.